Rearrange settings and depending on rearrangement maybe add more setting in Shortcut settings tab
Open, WishlistPublic

Description

Looking at the current Spectacle settings, I'd like to suggest a few changes and maybe additions.

  1. Move Copy file location to clipboard after saving to the General settings tab in the "After taking screenshot" section, instead of where it is now in the Save settings tab. Change the behavior of the checkboxes: When both Autosave the image to the default location & Copy file location to clipboard after saving are active, disable the checkbox Copy image to clipboard. When Copy image to clipboard & Autosave the image to the default location are active, disable Copy file location to clipboard after saving. Reason: One can't have both the image AND the file location in the clipboard after taking and saving (using autosave) a Screenshot.
  1. Considering this bug: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=420477 , and my first suboptimal approach to fix it in D29596 , I'd suggest multiple solutions (even tho I know we want to have less options and not exaggerate with options):

    a) in the Shortcuts tab add an option to override the default settings so shortcuts have their own settings (see mockup):
    b) If 1. is implemented, move the "After taking screenshot" section outside of "When Sspectacle is Running" section so it becomes clear that these settings are also valid for screenshots that are taken with Shortcuts.

Considering 2. I'd personally prefer b), assuming that users would understand that the "After taking screenshot" settings are also valid if Spectacle was not running but has been launched with Shortcuts. Also 2. b) means less new options, whereas 2.a) would mean more flexibility.

I hope that 'Tasks' is an adequate place to ask/make suggestions before someone starts coding and his code ends up in the abyss because it's not wanted/required :)

aprcela created this task.Tue, May 12, 8:29 PM
aprcela triaged this task as Low priority.
aprcela lowered the priority of this task from Low to Wishlist.
aprcela renamed this task from Spectacle - rearrange settings and maybe add more? to Rearrange settings and depending on rearrangement maybe add more setting in Shortcut settings tab.Tue, May 12, 8:49 PM

My idea would be:

Action after taking a screenshot: [] Save
                                  [] Copy

You can select one or both but not none. (Can we do that in a self explanatory way)?
Probably in general settings? And then we could add another checkbox [] Also do that when Spectacle is running

My idea would be:

Action after taking a screenshot: [] Save
                                  [] Copy

You can select one or both but not none. (Can we do that in a self explanatory way)?
Probably in general settings? And then we could add another checkbox [] Also do that when Spectacle is running

I assume that you mean:

Action after taking a screenshot: [] Save image to default folder location
                                  [] Copy image to clipboard

What about Copy file location to clipboard after saving, would that stay in the Save settings tab?
If yes - we'd have a problem if a users sets both of the checkboxes above and has Copy file location to clipboard after saving also set.

I assume that you mean:

Action after taking a screenshot: [] Save image to default folder location
                                  [] Copy image to clipboard

What about Copy file location to clipboard after saving, would that stay in the Save settings tab?
If yes - we'd have a problem if a users sets both of the checkboxes above and has Copy file location to clipboard after saving also set.

Well right now you have that problem too that you can select both. Even worse both settings are on different sub pages. I would also happy to remove Copy file location to clipboard after saving but I'm not sure if it's an extensive used feature. To me seems unnecessary when we have automatic copy.

aprcela added a comment.EditedSat, May 23, 5:28 PM

Well right now you have that problem too that you can select both. Even worse both settings are on different sub pages. I would also happy to remove Copy file location to clipboard after saving but I'm not sure if it's an extensive used feature. To me seems unnecessary when we have automatic copy.

Yeah, hard to tell if it's a popular feature or not. How about moving the After taking a screenhot outside of When Spectacle is running and put it on top of the General settings and move the Copy file location to clipboard after saving into After taking a screenhot. Maybe also add a new title When Spectacle is launched and rename the current When Spectacle is running to While Spectacle is running ?