Change the default configuration for "Delete invitation emails after the reply to them has been sent" to false
already discussed with @mlaurent and he agreed.
posting here in case anyone has strong opinions to keep the default "true"
this is safer for new users especially. users don't expect emails to disappear without knowing why.