Remember defined settings.
Open, NormalPublic

Description

From: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=349449

Some comments form users:

In current git versions of Kdenlive, the proxy clip settings are in the Project/Project Settings menu.

If you change these settings, save your project and quit Kdenlive, then start Kdenlive, these settings will not be restored.

If you load your project however, the proxy settings will be restored.

Strangely, the thumbnail settings above the proxy settings gets stored independent of the project file. So there is at least a minor inconsistency issue.

I'm not sure what to suggest. One could try moving some of these settings elsewhere, one could change either proxy settings to be global or thumbnail settings to be local or something else.

Here's a video demonstrating the settings and how they (don't) get saved:

https://youtu.be/ZztUq0iPcFI

And also:

Tested with Kdenlive 16.04.1, only some settings get saved (and you have to actually render for this to happen).

Encoder speed: yes
2 pass: couldn't test
Scanning: yes
Rescale: yes
Export audio: no
Stem audio export: no
Overlay: yes
Render using proxy clips: no
Play after render: yes
Export metadata: no

IMHO, every setting should be remembered (including the checkbox "More options" itself).

afarid created this task.Oct 16 2018, 8:05 PM
afarid triaged this task as Normal priority.

In the current scenario, proxy settings are defined also in Settings -> Configure Kdenlive -> Project Defaults, where values are saved and are provided whenever a new Project is made (truly as the name goes, "Project Defaults"). I believe all default values need to be saved here for a project whereas Project -> Project Settings is meant specifically for a project and are consequently not saved for a new project so IMHO saving settings in "Project Settings" would render "Project Defaults" effectively useless.

akhilkgangadharan added a comment.EditedJan 15 2019, 5:55 AM

In the current scenario, proxy settings are defined also in Settings -> Configure Kdenlive -> Project Defaults, where values are saved and are provided whenever a new Project is made (truly as the name goes, "Project Defaults"). I believe all default values need to be saved here for a project whereas Project -> Project Settings is meant specifically for a project and are consequently not saved for a new project so IMHO saving settings in "Project Settings" would render "Project Defaults" effectively useless.

Or it wouldn't actually. Project Settings just needs to remember the previous project's settings which may or may not be equal to the one defined in Project Defaults... Is that right?